The Governor of Borno State Prof. Babagana Umara Zullum has inaugurated the State Advisory Committee (SAC) set up by the European Union Funded British Council Managing Conflict in Nigeria Programme MCN.

The Committee is to provide guidance and support to the MCN Programme, to ensure that the implementation of programme activities are in line with Borno State goals and to act as ambassadors on behalf of the programme among others. This was made known by the State Team Lead of the EU British Council MCN Programme Zara Goni.

The Governor was represented by the Commissioner of Reconstruction, Rehabilitation and Resettlement RRR Engr. Mustapha Gubio who tasked the committee members to work in synergy and steer the affairs of the programme to achieve Borno state goals.

L-Zara Goni State Team Lead British Council, C- Engr. Mustapha Gubio
Commissioner of RRR R- Hajiya Zara Bukar Special Adviser to the Governor on Social Investment

The EU representative Kabiru Abbas in his address reiterated the committed of EU in building the state through education and protection of women, girls and men.

The Chairperson of the committee Hajiya Zara Bukar in her acceptance speech appreciated the untiring efforts of the Governor of Borno in transforming the state and accepted the challenge in joining the EU/British Council MCN programme to propel Borno state.

The members of the State Advisory Committee SAC include Special Adviser on Social Investment to the Borno State Governor Hajiya Zara Bukar as the Chairperson, Special Adviser on Information to the Borno Sate Governor Hon. Tukur Mshelia, Ministry of RRR – Mohammed Adam Benwaffy, Ministry of Poverty Alleviation –  Aisha Ibrahim Abdulrahman, Ministry of Justice – Barr. Audu Shettima Kaigama, Ministry of Women Affairs and Social Development – Mohammed Abubakar Ngoshe, Ministry of Local Government and Emirate Affairs – Zannah Alhaji Shettima, Ministry of Health – Zainab Ibrahim Alkali Academia – Dr Maryam Goni Askira, Dr Hayatudeen Muhammad Adam Religious Institution – Alhaji Shettima Ja’afar Imam, Rev. Joseph T. Kwaha, Traditional Institution– alhaji Abba Bukar, Hajja Yagana Abba Gambo Elkanemi – Civil Society Amb. Ahmed Shehu.